State Disaster Management Authority

Prior to the enactment of Disaster Management Act, 2005, the Tamil Nadu Government in its order Ms. No. 323, Revenue [NC-I(2)] Department dated 08-07-2003 issued orders for the constitution of State Disaster Management Authority with Chief Secretary of the State, as the Chairperson, to ensure coordinated steps towards mitigation, preparedness and coordinated response when a disaster strikes.

During December 2005, the Government of India enacted the Disaster Management Act 2005, which mandated the Chief Minister of the State as the Chairperson of the respective SDMA

Accordingly, the Tamil Nadu Government vide G.O. Ms No.564 Revenue (NC 1(2) Department dated 26.9.2008 reconstituted the SDMA with the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu as the Chairperson for monitoring the Disaster Management Activities in the State. The members of SDMA are: –

1. Hon’ble Minister for Revenue and Disaster Management

2. Chief Secretary to Government

3. Secretary, Revenue and Disaster Management Department

4. Secretary, Finance Department

5. Secretary, Home Department

6. State Relief Commissioner and Commissioner of Revenue Administration

7. Director, Centre for Disaster Management & Mitigation, Anna University, Chennai and

8. Head of Department of Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras.

The State Disaster Management Authority (SDMA) is responsible for coordinating the response to disasters and to reduce risks. All measures for mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery are undertaken under the guidance and supervision of the Authority. The SDMA approves the State Disaster Management Plan and District Disaster Management Plans in accordance with the guidelines laid down by the National Disaster Management Authority.


The State is divided into 32 Districts. The Districts are further subdivided into 73 Revenue Divisions, 206 Taluks, 1120 Firkas and 16563 Villages.

Objective / purpose of the Department

Revenue Department is, so to say, the mother of all Administrative Departments. This is the department which touches upon almost all aspects of a Citizen’s life. It is all pervasive. Its contribution to the orderly social development is immense. The Revenue Department is the custodian of all lands and it is concerned with all land disposals. The work relating to land assignment, land acquisition, alienation of land, updating and maintenance of Land Revenue Records, grant of Pattas, Land Reforms, Land Ceiling, Levy and collection of Urban Land Tax are looked after by the Revenue Department.

Revenue department is the first to rush to the people during the times of Natural Calamities like Tsunami, drought and flood. The Department shifts the affected people to places of safety and it provides food, clothes, shelter and also distributes essential commodities and financial assistance in the form of cash. It may as will be said that in every walk of the common man’s need, the participation of Revenue Department cannot be under estimated. In order to serve the society or people in a better way, this department have long hierarchy of officers. At the state level, the function of Revenue Administration, Disaster Management and Mitigation, Land Administration, Land Reforms and Survey and Settlement are entrusted to the commissioner of Revenue Administration. Commissioner of Land Administration, Commissioner of Land Reforms and Commissioner of Survey and Settlement respectively.

Functions of the Department

1) Providing efficient delivery of services of various Government schemes to the people of Tamil Nadu.

2) Providing relief and implementing rehabilitation measures for those affected by Natural Calamities.

3) Functioning as the custodian of Government lands and ensuring proper maintenance of land records for the State.

4) Implementation of Land Reforms and providing land to the needy and eligible persons

External links